Lessons Learned On First Portrait Shoot

Rachel Showing How To Pull The B&W Look.

1) Adjust aperture more: Although I completely understand how to work my camera and the triangle(iso, aperture, and shutter speed) I was so worried about getting the shots I did not constantly think about the settings. I was only thinking about the person in front of the camera. In the end I came out with a lot of soft images and the focus was not on her eye, not even on her face a lot. I got lucky with the shots I ended with. Even some of the images I used, if you look close enough you can see it’s soft on the face. The main ones that came out soft were wider shots because the darn aperture was set at 1.8! Stupid mistake.

2) No Assistant: I tried to find an assistant; however, it did not pan out and alas was only myself and Rachel. There were quite a few times I could have used the reflector up high that I could not finagle. Although, I admit, even a few times it could have helped the image just on the ground reflecting up at her and I did not see that in the moment. Assistants are awesome.

3) Cutting off limbs: In a few shots I cut off a finger or the bottom of the boot. Definitely watching that more. I did another photoshoot Friday morning and kept my eye on the limbs, elbows poking out randomly, heels, knees, etc.

4) Bad Low angle shots: I learned recently shooting an individual from a little bit of an above-shooting down angle makes them look slimmer. Made sense once it was explained to me. I took a lot of low angle shots that luckily turned out well. I definitely had to readjust her dress throughout the shoot.

5) Background: The background of a lot of the images was distracting. One individual explained to me that in one shot the top of a post was coming out of her head from the playground behind her. I didn’t think it was that big of a deal and didn’t make it bad at all, but I can understand the concern.

I was expecting many mistakes for this portrait photoshoot. I am still very happy with the shots I got out of it and happy to have made some mistakes. Have to learn somehow and no better way than learning hands on. That’s all I can really think of at the moment at 2:30 in the morning. Also, keep in mind that I have yet to touch photoshop and trying to keep my images as true to the person/object that I captured. Thanks for visiting!

A great quote here,

In order to succeed you must fail, so that you know what not to do the next time.
Anthony J. D’Angelo

Logan

 

 

This entry was published on October 14, 2012 at 7:36 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Lessons Learned On First Portrait Shoot

  1. You know what, when i look back at my first portraits, i shudder. Now I get paid well for fashion photography, there is no secret…practice, practice then more practice. Well done getting out there. If I can be bold and offer advice, slow down, review your shots often and don’t forget it should be fun.

    • Thanks Andrew! I am definitely having a lot of fun with it. One of the reasons I made this blog was so later I can come look at my shots to see how I have progressed. A little experiment for me. Definitely slowing down and checking things in the frame.

Leave a Reply

